Parliamentary Caucus Pushes for Addition of 11 Counties to Address Marginalization

Parliamentary Caucus Pushes for Addition of 11 Counties to Address Marginalization

Parliamentary Caucus Advocates for the Inclusion of 11 Counties to Tackle Marginalization

In a bid to address economic, social, and political marginalization within county boundaries, a parliamentary caucus consisting of 26 legislators has called for the addition of 11 new counties to the existing 47, bringing the total to 58. The caucus, comprising Members of Parliament from various regions, has submitted a joint memorandum to the National Dialogue Committee outlining the need for expanded representation and equal access to resources and opportunities.

Citing the adverse effects of limited representation on political processes and poverty levels, the legislators emphasized the urgent need for action. They have proposed that the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) should delineate the boundaries of the new counties within six months of the Act’s commencement.

The proposed counties include Kuria County (from Migori County), Teso County (from Busia County), Mount Elgon County (from Bungoma and Transzoia Counties), East Pokot County (from Baringo and West Pokot Counties), Mwingi County (from Kitui County), Gucha County (from Kisii County), Suba County (from Homabay County), Ijara County (from Garissa County), Nakuru West (from Nakuru County), Wajir South (from Wajir County), and Nyambene County (from Embu County).

Notable legislators supporting the addition of counties are Kuria East MP Marwa Kitayama, Teso North MP Edward Oku, Mt Elgon MP Fred Kapondi, Mwingi Central MP Gideon Mutemi, Kitui MP Irene Muthoni, Suba South MP Caroli Omondi, Rongai MP Paul Chebir, and Wajir South MP Mohammed Adow, among others. Kitui Senator Enoch Wambua has also joined the cause.

The MPs have countered suggestions that a referendum is necessary, asserting that the proposal can be implemented without one. The focus remains on addressing the long-standing disparities and ensuring a more equitable distribution of resources and political representation.

As discussions unfold and the proposal gains attention, stakeholders and experts will closely monitor the developments surrounding the potential addition of these 11 counties.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Deprecated: htmlspecialchars(): Passing null to parameter #1 ($string) of type string is deprecated in /home/swalijib/public_html/news/wp-includes/formatting.php on line 4715